Million Media

See Things Differently

The Filter Focus On Playlists


filter_logoWe were intrigued by what we saw on The Filter. It’s a UK site who have created a nifty software application that analyses your music collection, then passes the information back to the ‘Filter Brain’ which subsequently presents you with a Playlist of tracks based on your music library. So far, so Last.fm you might say. However, it differs slightly in that there is no streaming music on Filter – it is all based on Playlists and subsequently quick and easy to use. If you like a track you’re given the option to buy from the usual shops (Amazon, iTunes etc).

Initially I liked the idea. I don’t listen to Last.fm since I find it too esoteric. So, the idea of being given a playlist seemed fine. But then I saw the downside. There is no streaming music, only links to YouTube videos. The playlists are builtfilter_screen around what I already have, with new tracks recommended based on my existing collection. Therefore I have to click on each track to see if I liked it. And when I tried the demo, the first track recommended to me was by Radiohead, who I can’t stand…

There are many more applications based on playlists. They’re undoubtably a powerful way of sharing music. But for mainstream users I think they require the listener to do too much. Most people, I suspect, simply want music to play when they click on a button, and if they like what they hear they’ll stick with it.

About Neil

Neil Cartwright founded Million Media in 2006 with the aim to help people understand digital marketing and use it to their advantage. The vision hasn't changed but the technology has.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 25, 2007 by in communities, marketing, music.
