Million Media

See Things Differently

MGMT – Time To Pretend


I just heard this on Cloud Speakers, the website which is like Critical Metrics, but better. Typing away, not paying much notice, then this plays and I have to stop writing and start listening. No idea who they are, or indeed, what on earth this song is about. But check it out, and it has great bass line.
MGMT – “Time To Pretend”

You can also watch their video here on Stereogum.

mgmtOK – so this is an hour later and I looked them up on Google. And guess what? I’m late to the party, innit! Their MySpace has over 1.2m plays ‘n over 1.7m profile views, YouTube is 239,000+ views, and they’re signed to a Major (Columbia). How does this make me feel? Well, I checked the rest of their stuff on MySpace and none of it is as good as Time To Pretend, so check it, still. Judging some comments, by what I assume are non-plussed UK residents, on YouTube Radio 1 are only spot playing this, so it will be interesting to see if the band are discovered via T’internet or radio.

About Neil

Neil Cartwright founded Million Media in 2006 with the aim to help people understand digital marketing and use it to their advantage. The vision hasn't changed but the technology has.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on March 10, 2008 by in music.